Chakra Guide

Chakra means wheel of light in Sanskrit.

The Chakras are the seven power points in the human body that circulate energy or the life force also known as prana. They are vertically aligned in the center of the body close to the spine.

Through our Chakras, we transmit and receive physical, emotional, and spiritual energy; the chakras are manifested in one’s physical state. The ideal is to have all chakra centers clear, balanced, and vitalized for optimal well-being.  If the Chakra are unbalanced – not properly aligned or blocked – it can affect physical and mental health. The spiritual development is also connected with the good health of the Chakra.

Aura colors surrounding the body

Each chakra is associated with a particular area of the body and a color of the spectrum. The aura, which is an electromagnetic field that surrounds the body, can indicate the body health, mental health and spiritual health of an individual. Clear and bright colors indicate good health. Muddy and dark colors indicate an unhealthy or negative state.

The idea of the aura surrounding the body is common in most spiritual traditions. It is a recurrent theme in religious art of the early Greeks and Romans, along with Buddhists and Christians, all show a halo also called a nimbus or aureole.

Stones are used at chakra centers for clearing, revitalizing, and healing. Crystal wands are utilized to open the chakras. Generally, the selection of stones corresponds with the associated color of the chakra.

Chakra Stones

As you become familiar with stones, meditation, healing work, and the energies within and around you, you will begin to incorporate your awareness into different aspects of your life and consciousness. Studying and working with the chakra system will help you become aware of the powerful life force energy that exists within our bodies, minds, our environment, and ultimately the physical and divine universe.

Below is a brief listing of stones and their use with the chakra system to get you started.

7th Chakra

Located at the top of the head

Red, black Stability, grounding, physical energy, will, security. Hematite

Black Obsidian

Black Tourmaline

Red Zincite


Smoky Quartz

6th Chakra

Third eye

Location centered above eyebrows, at medulla

Orange, Blue-green Creativity, healing, sexuality and reproduction, desire, emotion, intuition. Orange Calcite



Blue-green Turquoise

Blue-green Fluorite

5th Chakra


Located at the neck above collar bone

Yellow Intellect, ambition, personal power, protective. Citrine

Yellow Jasper

Golden Calcite

4th Chakra


Located in the center of the chest

Pink, Green Love, compassion, universal consciousness, emotional balance. Rose Quartz

Pink/Rubellite Tourmaline

Watermelon Tourmaline

Green Aventurine



3rd Chakra

Solar Plexus

Located at solar plexus, below breastbone

Blue Communication center, expression, divine guidance. Sodalite

Blue Calcite

Blue Kyanite


Blue Turquoise

2nd Chakra


Located below the navel

Indigo Spiritual awareness, psychic power, intuition, light. Lapis Lazuli



1st Chakra

Base, Root

Located at the base of the spine

Violet, Golden-white Enlightenment, cosmic consciousness, energy, perfection. Amethyst

White Calcite

White Topaz